Oboist Nicholas Daniel, ever-popular at the Aldeburgh Festival, returns with a programme that features three chamber works by Oliver Knussen, including the revival of the unhappily titled Fire, a work requested by Britten for the 1969 festival and premiered just days after the new Snape Maltings had burned down.

Daniel is joined by outstanding colleagues to play vivacious Mozart, the piece with which Britten made his own international breakthrough as a teenager, and a brand new work by Joanna Lee.

Nicholas Daniel, oboe
Adam Walker, flute
Britten Oboe Quartet

Saturday 22 June 2019, 5pm

Knussen Fire 7’
Cantata 10’
Masks for solo flute 3’
Britten Phantasy Quartet 12’
Debussy Syrinx 4’
Joanna Lee new work (Aldeburgh Festival commission, world premiere) 6’
Mozart Oboe Quartet 18’
Schumann arr Colin Matthews Mondnacht 5’
Colin Matthews Oboe Quartet No.2 9’

Online booking